Awards, Grants & Funding

Australia Day

On Australia Day we come together as a nation to celebrate what’s great about Australia and being Australian. It’s the day to reflect on what we have achieved and what we can be proud of in our great nation. It’s the day for us to re-commit to making Australia an even better place for the future.

We now invite nominations, in the categories listed below, for the 2018 Australia Day awards, which must be received by  Monday 27 November.  Nomination forms are available here, or can be collected from the library or administration office.
Citizen and Young Citizen of the Year
Community Group of the Year
Environmental Award

Congratulations to the 2017 Australia Day award winners:

Citizen of the Year: Grahame Old, for his work in preserving the history of Collie’s servicemen, especially those who served in the Great War.

Young Citizen of the Year: Brianna Harrison-Brown, for her many years of service to the Collie Community Radio station, as well as her involvement with the Anzac Tour Group and Bendigo Bank’s Magic Moments programme.

Community Group of the Year: Collie Heritage and Men’s Shed Group, for its ongoing contribution to the community including building a Monet-styled bridge for Our Community Garden, six benches for the recently opened Karak (Red Tail) Trail, benches for the Collie Mineworkers Memorial Pool, and cleaning up tiles for the Donnybrook Cycle Race memorial.

Environmental Award: Megan Cain, for her commitment to keeping Wellington Weir and surrounding natural environment as litter free as possible.

Sporting Scholarships

Sporting Scholarship Application
Assistance can be provided as a sporting scholarship of $250 for an individual or up to $500 where 3 or more residents are selected in a Western Australian State or Australian National representative team.

Sports Awards

The Shire of Collie held the 2017 Sport Awards Presentation Evening on Friday 24 November. The annual awards aim to highlight the sporting achievements of the Collie community.
State Women’s footballer, Philipa Seth, was the guest speaker for the evening. Philipa has represented the state in both women’s football and rugby, as well as holding the Vice-Captain position for the Under 23s Women’s State football team.

Congratulations to the 2017 award recipients:
Special Achievement Award– Annabelle Biffin
Junior Sportsperson of the Year– Emily Antonovich
JL Mumme Medal for Sportsperson of the Year– Grant Campbell
Robinson-Hannan Volunteer of the Year Award– Paul Reuben

Community Small Grants Fund

Applications for Round 1 of the Shire’s 2017/18 small grants have now closed. Details will be posted here when round 2 opens.

Recipients of grants from Round 1 in the 2017/18 financial year were:

Collie Motor Cycle Club
Rotary Club of Collie
Riverview Residence
Collie BMX Club
Collie Volleyball Association
Collie Community Broadcasting Association
Collie CoderDoJo