Council Elections

Shire of Collie Local Government Election by Postal Vote

The Shire of Collie is holding an election by postal vote on Saturday, 19 October 2019 to fill vacancies in the offices of Councillors as listed below:

7 Councillors: 6 4-year terms; 1 2-year term. Nominees for this election are:

Collie – Councillor – FARIES, Gary
Collie – Councillor – ITALIANO, Joe
Collie – Councillor – PIAVANINI, John
Collie – Councillor – KEARNEY, John
Collie – Councillor – HARVERSON, Elysia
Collie – Councillor – WHITE Brent
Collie – Councillor – MIFFLING, Ian
Collie – Councillor – HANSEN, Brett

Election Packages will be sent to all electors on the local government electoral roll where there is an election in their electorate.
Replacement Packages can be obtained from the Shire of Collie prior to election day and from 8.00am to 6.00pm on election day if the package is not received or should any papers be missing.
Post your vote early. Completed postal voting packages must reach the Returning Officer by 6.00pm on election day, Saturday, 19 October 2019.
You may hand deliver your package to an electoral officer at the Shire of Collie during business hours before election day or at the polling place in the district between 8.00am and 6.00pm on election day.

Chief Polling Place:
Shire of Collie, 87 Throssell Street, COLLIE

The count of votes will commence at 6.00pm at the Chief Polling Place.

Local government ordinary elections are held on the third Saturday in October every two years.

Councillors are elected for terms of four years in Western Australia. Elections are held every two years for half of the council, and candidates are elected using the first-past-the-post voting system. If a vacancy occurs within a term, an extraordinary election is held.

Electors who wish to nominate as a candidate in a local government election must complete a valid nomination application and present it to the Returning Officer before nominations close. Nominations for a local government election open 44 days before polling day and close at 4.00 pm, 37 days before polling day.

Further information about elections is available from the WA Electoral Commission.